WHERE AND WHEN WE MEET

Burntwood Family History Group holds two meetings each month. They take place in Burntwood at The Old Mining College Centre, Queen Street, Chasetown, WS7 4QH and run from 7 p.m. to 9 p.m. Refreshments are provided and are included in the admission fee of £1.00 for members and £2.00 for non-members. A full list of forthcoming meetings is given below.

At our formal meeting on the 2nd Monday of the month we usually have a guest speaker to talk to us on a topic related to family, local or social history.

On the 4th Monday of the month we hold a drop-in surgery for members and non-members researching their family history or seeking help with their research. Visitors to the drop-in surgeries have access to the Old Mining College IT Suite and the members library.

Please note that alternative Monday dates are scheduled when there is a clash with a Bank Holiday and the Old Mining College Centre is closed.

Click here for a map showing the location of the Old Mining College

Formal meetings on the 2nd Monday in the month

2019

Monday 14 October:  Keith Rothery “The History of Methodism - Its Divisions and Its Unions”

Monday 11 November:  Anthony Hunt “The History of Horse Racing in Hednesford”

Monday 9 December:  Christmas Social Evening with quiz and buffet

2020

Monday 13 January: Ned Williams “Palaces for the People”   

Monday 10 February: Peter Bates “The Transportation of Convicts to Australia”

Monday 9 March: Anthony Poulton-Smith “The Saxon Era - Why the Dark Ages were anything but dark”

Monday 13 April: Meeting with Guest Speaker

Monday 11 May: Karen Evans “A Grim Almanac of Staffordshire”

Monday 8 June: Steve Booth “The Golden Age of Stagecoaching”

Monday 13 July: Mary Bodfish “Cavalier Dogs and Roundhead Rogues”

Monday 10 August: Eric Newton “Life and Times of a Busker”

Monday 14 September: BFHG Annual General Meeting, followed by 10-minute talks by BFHG members

Monday 12 October: Anthony Hunt “The last lady to be hanged in Staffordshire - Sarah Westwood”

Monday 9 November: Mick Byrne and David Bardell “The Crimson Fields”

Monday 14 December: Christmas Social Evening with quiz and buffet

Drop-in surgeries normally on the 4th Monday in the month

2019

Monday 23 September:  Drop-in Surgery

Monday 28 October:  Drop-in Surgery

Monday 25 November:  Drop-in Surgery

There is no Drop-in Surgery in December

2020

Monday 27 January: Drop-In Surgery

Monday 24 February: Drop-In Surgery

Monday 23 March: Drop-In Surgery

Monday 27 April: Drop-In Surgery

Monday 25 May: Drop-In Surgery

Monday 22 June: Drop-In Surgery

Monday 27 July: Drop-In Surgery

Monday 24 August: Drop-In Surgery

Monday 28 September: Drop-In Surgery

Monday 26 October: Drop-In Surgery

Monday 23 November: Drop-In Surgery

There is no Drop-in Surgery in December